Le Petit Ballon Wine Subscription Review and Giveaway

Le Petit Ballon Wine Subscription Review and Giveaway

My very first experience with wine wasn’t a particularly pleasant one. I wasn’t quite of legal age *ahem* and my friend had ‘borrowed’ a bottle of cheap white wine from her parents’ liquor cupboard.

In an act of apprehensive rebellion, we drank the warm liquid from plastic cups and I think it took me about three years to erase the bitter, acidic taste from my memory. Upon entering adulthood, I decided to move on to the more palatable option of zingy gin as my chosen tipple, leaving my limited and slightly traumatic wine experience firmly in the past.

When Le Petit Ballon asked if I’d like to review their premium wine subscription service, I figured that this was my opportunity to get on board with most of the adult population and see exactly what is that I’ve been missing out on. I mean, wine is the lubrication of most social situations so there must be an appeal there somewhere!

Le Petit Ballon Wine Review and Giveaway That British Betty Blog

What Is Le Petit Ballon?

The ideal subscription box for wine lovers and novices alike, Le Petit Ballon is a delivery service with a difference. From just £24.95, every month you’ll receive two bottles of wine that you won’t find at the supermarket. Handpicked by master Sommelier, Jean-Michel Deluc, each bottle is carefully selected for Le Petit Ballon to bring the very best to your own doorstep.

Our Experience

I placed the order for our box online and within a week, it arrived neatly packaged in a sturdy cardboard box. I opted for both a red and white wine, although you do have to option to tailor your own box based on personal preference. Adam is partial to the odd bottle of Rioja and I wanted the opportunity to try a slightly more ‘grown up’ white wine that wouldn’t burn my taste buds off.

Our parcel arrived with a booklet (The Gazette) containing plenty of advice and tips on the origins of the enclosed wines, ideal food accompaniments to the selection provided and more – we definitely didn’t ignore the experts and sample them alongside pizza (!) instead.

Chateau Le Grand Verdus
Expression 2105
AOP Bordeaux
Non-subscriber price £10.90
Subscriber price £7.90 

This white wine is described as ‘a pale gold with green flashes, with a silvery shine that suggests vibrancy and freshness. On the nose, the wine is aromatic, combining notes of white fruits, citrus and white flowers’.

The 750ml bottle was clean, simple and well presented. After leaving it to chill in the fridge overnight, I popped the cork (turns out that we don’t actually own a corkscrew so I had to get creative) and poured myself a small glass.

The sauvignon blanc, semillon and muscadelle grapes worked perfectly to create a light and refreshing wine that was extremely palatable. Smooth and fruity, it had subtle floral notes that would be well suited to an outdoor picnic in the sunshine.

I actually found myself reaching for a second helping (not bad for the woman who had previously disliked white wine for almost twenty years) so it’s certainly something I’ll consider purchasing in the future.

Le Petit Ballon Wine Review and Giveaway That British Betty Blog

Marianne Wine Estate
Okoma 2014
Western Cape Afrique Du Sud
Non-subscriber price £10.90
Subscriber price £8.90 

Ideally paired with lamb chops, hamburgers, chicken parmentier and more, this ruby red wine reminded me of BBQs and lazy Sunday afternoons with friends. A bold design, the bottle oozed a youthful confidence before I’d even opened it.

I’m not a fan of reds as I often find them far too rich and heavy but, in the name of research, I joined Adam for a glass of Okoma as we caught up on our respective days. Containing syrah, merlot, pinotage, cabernet sauvignon grapes, the aroma of red cherry was swiftly followed by a hint of liquorice.

I sipped slowly and discovered that this wine was sweet, spicy and surprisingly soft; the kind of beverage to be enjoyed over the course of an evening in the garden.

Le Petit Ballon Wine Subscription Review & Giveaway That British Betty Blog

Summary

The subscription boxes are ideal for those who are already knowledgeable wine lovers or enthusiastic folk who would like to learn more. The Le Petit Ballon ‘Wine Profile’ will assess your flavour preferences and helps you find wines you’ll love; there’s even the option to buy the Le Petit Ballon boxes as a unique, special gift.

Want to try a Le Petit Ballon for yourself? You can find out more and order here or enter my giveaway below to win a months subscription box. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter Bloglovin’

*In collaboration with Le Petit Ballon 
T&Cs apply. Ends 23.59 (BST) on 10.06.17 

152 Comments

  1. Tracey Susan Anderson 10th June 2017 / 10:35 pm

    All depends on my meal but for socialising i prefer a sweet white 🙂 x

  2. Diane Duggan 10th June 2017 / 9:45 pm

    Its White for me.

  3. Michelle Cheeseman 10th June 2017 / 9:42 pm

    I prefer White Wine : )

  4. Adrian Bold 10th June 2017 / 9:26 pm

    I prefer white wine every time.

  5. SUSAN L HALL 10th June 2017 / 9:03 pm

    I Like either Rose or White – i can’t drink Red at all as has a bad effect on me

  6. Tee Simpson 10th June 2017 / 8:45 pm

    Rosé for me

  7. Kay Broomfield 10th June 2017 / 8:39 pm

    I love white wine.

  8. Zoe Warren 10th June 2017 / 8:30 pm

    Red in the winter, white in the summer!

  9. Melanie stanbridge 10th June 2017 / 7:47 pm

    Rose for me

  10. Natalie Crossan 10th June 2017 / 7:34 pm

    white every time xx

  11. Angela Macdonald 10th June 2017 / 7:14 pm

    White, but rose is a very close 2nd

  12. Melissa Lee 10th June 2017 / 6:52 pm

    I’ll drink anything but I love red wine the most

  13. Rebecca roberts 10th June 2017 / 6:21 pm

    Red is my favorite tho I’m getting in to white

  14. sharon martin 10th June 2017 / 6:12 pm

    white

  15. kelly cleeton 10th June 2017 / 5:10 pm

    White – Australian Riesling is my ultimate fave

  16. Louise Burgess 10th June 2017 / 5:01 pm

    Rose followed by white wine 🙂

  17. shelley white 10th June 2017 / 4:48 pm

    I like a dry rose.

  18. Nick B 10th June 2017 / 4:29 pm

    White!

  19. ADEINNE TONNER 10th June 2017 / 3:25 pm

    My favourite type of wine personally has to be white wine

  20. Judy Beba-Brown 10th June 2017 / 3:11 pm

    Tough! If I have to choose, it’ll be white. Viognier. YUM!!

  21. Keith Hunt 10th June 2017 / 1:17 pm

    rose

  22. carla carthy 10th June 2017 / 11:49 am

    Rose for me

  23. Lynn Hughes 10th June 2017 / 11:29 am

    Red

  24. Stuart Dunlop 10th June 2017 / 11:27 am

    My husband and I both like red

  25. Tracy Gladman 10th June 2017 / 11:14 am

    Love a nice glass of Red. Fitou is my favourite.

  26. Sheila Reeves 10th June 2017 / 11:02 am

    Love red wine

  27. Samantha R 10th June 2017 / 10:49 am

    White is my favourite 🙂

  28. Lee Whittaker 10th June 2017 / 10:40 am

    Definitely white!

  29. katrina adams 10th June 2017 / 10:36 am

    Rose for me! Love sharing a bottle with the girls.

  30. Michaela Campbell 10th June 2017 / 10:34 am

    Rose

  31. Marjoleine Kok 10th June 2017 / 9:49 am

    My tastes change with the seasons 🙂 In the summer I love a fresh crisp white and in the winter months a large glass of rich velvety red x

  32. Lucy Chester 10th June 2017 / 9:27 am

    I love White

  33. Simon Tinsley 10th June 2017 / 9:14 am

    A nice Malbec – red.

  34. marie miles 10th June 2017 / 8:59 am

    i prefere Rose wine but do like a drop of white sometimes but red wine causes me headaches so i try to avoid. thanks for the chance of a fab giveaway.

  35. Anna Brown 10th June 2017 / 8:53 am

    My favourite is definitely a rosè

  36. Theresa Alison 10th June 2017 / 8:10 am

    Rose 🙂 I do like all but If push comes to shove Rose for me everytime 🙂

  37. Maxine G 10th June 2017 / 7:36 am

    An Italian Red is always welcomed in my house!

  38. Sue H Jenkins 10th June 2017 / 5:27 am

    white for me

  39. Diana 9th June 2017 / 8:48 pm

    Red 🙂

  40. Emma Davison 9th June 2017 / 8:13 pm

    White.

  41. Laura Pritchard 9th June 2017 / 7:44 pm

    I love Rose!

  42. Teresa sheldon 9th June 2017 / 7:43 pm

    Nothing beats a good red

  43. Carly Belsey 9th June 2017 / 7:31 pm

    Can I say all three? Lol. I love all wine to be honest

  44. Melanie Pennie 9th June 2017 / 7:30 pm

    Red wine … full-bodied and fruity 🙂

  45. Miss Tracy Hanson 9th June 2017 / 7:17 pm

    I do like red if I’ve honest. Do like rose as well (my boss calls it “confused” wine lol).

  46. Jessica Hutton 9th June 2017 / 4:19 pm

    White wine xx

  47. Deborah Bird 9th June 2017 / 2:39 pm

    Rose is my fave x

  48. Catherine Bell 9th June 2017 / 10:37 am

    White for me

  49. Emma Smith 9th June 2017 / 10:28 am

    Always red!

  50. Sarah Parker 9th June 2017 / 5:57 am

    red

  51. Danni Cresswell 8th June 2017 / 9:01 pm

    Red x

  52. Lindy Hine 8th June 2017 / 7:32 pm

    I love Red on occasion, I also love White on occasion – Rose is rather nice too 😉

  53. Karen B 8th June 2017 / 3:49 pm

    After careful deliberation, I’ll opt for red – I think!

  54. claire griffiths 8th June 2017 / 1:13 pm

    white

  55. Clare Hubbard 8th June 2017 / 10:55 am

    Rose

  56. Sheri Darby 7th June 2017 / 9:04 pm

    Red wine for me

  57. Kat Allinson 7th June 2017 / 8:40 pm

    Rose

  58. Anthea Holloway 7th June 2017 / 5:48 pm

    I love red wine best.

  59. tina Glover 7th June 2017 / 8:58 am

    A good dry white for me – sauvignon blanc or chablis usually xx

  60. Lorna Peppiatt 6th June 2017 / 7:52 pm

    Rose is my preferred choice x

  61. Stewart Biddle 6th June 2017 / 7:48 pm

    Cant beat a good glass of rose

  62. Nikki Hayes 6th June 2017 / 6:56 pm

    Rose all the way :o)

  63. Jane Adair 6th June 2017 / 5:44 pm

    I prefer a dry white wine

  64. Fiona Timms 6th June 2017 / 3:47 pm

    rose, please

  65. jen jackson 6th June 2017 / 3:45 pm

    I love white wine although I am quite partial to a glass of rose and wouldn’t say no to a glass of red!

  66. Sarah Fielding 6th June 2017 / 1:18 pm

    Definitely Rose!

  67. Mandy Betts 5th June 2017 / 4:42 pm

    White

  68. Elizabeth Smith 5th June 2017 / 8:41 am

    Red, but I wouldn’t turn down white or rose!

  69. Laura Nice 5th June 2017 / 6:06 am

    Its got to be rose!!

  70. Katie Skeoch 4th June 2017 / 11:02 pm

    Love a glass of red wine

  71. Fiona 4th June 2017 / 1:50 pm

    Probably rose

  72. Alison McClean 4th June 2017 / 8:11 am

    I love all wines but I probably drink white the most.

  73. Iris W 3rd June 2017 / 8:03 am

    I prefer white wine but love a glass of red too

  74. Christine Caple 2nd June 2017 / 8:35 pm

    Rose is my favourite

  75. Diane Wareing 2nd June 2017 / 7:54 pm

    White for me x

  76. Rebecca 1st June 2017 / 11:50 am

    White for me!

  77. Lisa Wilkinson 31st May 2017 / 8:49 pm

    Rose

  78. Louise Smith 31st May 2017 / 5:57 pm

    Red 🍷

  79. Emma Louise Elliott 31st May 2017 / 3:46 pm

    I usually prefer white wine xxx

  80. Susan Hoggett 31st May 2017 / 2:48 pm

    I find an occasion for any wine but in the summer my choice is a chilled Rose in the garden

  81. Ruth Harwood 31st May 2017 / 12:05 pm

    I do love a glass of rose after a long hard day xx

  82. aj 31st May 2017 / 11:02 am

    sparkling white was always my favourite.

  83. Rebecca Lis 31st May 2017 / 9:12 am

    Rose for me!

  84. Mel Turner 30th May 2017 / 10:19 pm

    Rose for me please

  85. Lesley Bradley 30th May 2017 / 10:14 pm

    Rose for me please 🙂

  86. charlotte 30th May 2017 / 7:35 pm

    has to be red! but any wine will do me 😛

  87. Helen Tovell 30th May 2017 / 3:05 pm

    Definitely white

  88. Liam Bishop 30th May 2017 / 1:27 pm

    Red with everything.

  89. justine meyer 29th May 2017 / 9:39 pm

    rose for me x

  90. Lindsay 29th May 2017 / 9:04 pm

    White wine – can’t go past a nice sauv blanc 🙂

  91. Kerry Taylor 29th May 2017 / 8:23 pm

    Rose or a sweet white for me. I have a sweet tooth!

  92. Katie 29th May 2017 / 7:54 pm

    White

  93. Jo Carroll 29th May 2017 / 7:28 pm

    A rich, fruity red is my preference but I gladly accept any variety 😉

  94. niall O'Grady 29th May 2017 / 7:02 pm

    Red, always

  95. Nathan 29th May 2017 / 6:39 pm

    Definitely red, the only time I don’t have red is when Champagne is on offer!

  96. Louise Comb 29th May 2017 / 6:32 pm

    I think my fave is probably a rose, but it’s close 🙂

  97. Lisa Evans 29th May 2017 / 6:28 pm

    White!

  98. Andrea A 29th May 2017 / 6:06 pm

    Red

  99. Helen Adams 29th May 2017 / 5:22 pm

    My favourite is red

  100. Andrew Petrie 29th May 2017 / 5:10 pm

    Red for me.

  101. Alica 29th May 2017 / 4:34 pm

    oooh Rose for me! Great giveaway, thanks for the chance x

  102. yvonne cooke 29th May 2017 / 3:59 pm

    love rose, loving your blog.xx

  103. Bob Clark 29th May 2017 / 3:16 pm

    has to be red

  104. simon tutthill 29th May 2017 / 2:39 pm

    Has to be red

  105. laura banks 29th May 2017 / 2:27 pm

    my favorite is rose

  106. Mummy Melton 29th May 2017 / 2:13 pm

    I like white or rose. I don’t like my white too dry though

  107. Caroline H 29th May 2017 / 1:28 pm

    Red for me.

  108. Jan Wroblewski 29th May 2017 / 1:17 pm

    White is my favorite.

  109. Sam McKean 29th May 2017 / 1:08 pm

    Definitely a nice rich red

  110. Maria Blythin 29th May 2017 / 12:50 pm

    red please x

  111. Fiona King 29th May 2017 / 12:22 pm

    White

  112. Fiona King 29th May 2017 / 12:22 pm

    White

  113. Liz Simpson 29th May 2017 / 11:50 am

    A big red wine for me please – my favourite grape is Pinotage

  114. Sandra Fortune 29th May 2017 / 11:37 am

    Love red !

  115. charlene aldred 29th May 2017 / 11:33 am

    white for me 🙂

  116. amy bondoc 29th May 2017 / 11:21 am

    love a good rose!

  117. Mari Sutherland 29th May 2017 / 10:56 am

    Rose in the summer

  118. Karen Barrett 29th May 2017 / 10:37 am

    Rose

  119. Suzanne Jackson 29th May 2017 / 10:34 am

    rose at the moment 🙂

  120. Tracey Belcher 29th May 2017 / 9:41 am

    We drink more Red but are not opposed to any

  121. Jade Pawley 29th May 2017 / 9:08 am

    I love Rose!

  122. Julia Lawson 29th May 2017 / 8:55 am

    I like all 3 types, but I find myself going for Rose the most so I think it’s probably my fave! It’s really refreshing 🙂

  123. Susan Smith 29th May 2017 / 6:46 am

    Rose for me

  124. Natalie Thomason 29th May 2017 / 1:51 am

    A dry crisp red

  125. Emma Slevin 28th May 2017 / 10:54 pm

    Rose – What a lovely prize. Keeping my fingers crossed for a win. 🙂

  126. Ollie Randolph 28th May 2017 / 10:11 pm

    I love white wine!

  127. pete c 28th May 2017 / 9:06 pm

    red wine for me!

  128. Jules Eley 28th May 2017 / 7:12 pm

    White!

  129. jo liddement 28th May 2017 / 1:20 pm

    I like a white wine

  130. Kim Neville 28th May 2017 / 11:07 am

    I like white

  131. claire woods 28th May 2017 / 8:39 am

    white

  132. Solange 27th May 2017 / 11:22 pm

    My favourite is Rose.

  133. Amanda Richardson 27th May 2017 / 9:30 pm

    White for me, red for hubby and sometimes we meet in the middle for a rose. Best of all worlds really 🙂

  134. Sheena Batey 27th May 2017 / 6:30 pm

    I like it all far too much but if pushed i would say red.

  135. Margaret Clarkson 27th May 2017 / 3:52 pm

    Red

  136. Kim M 27th May 2017 / 2:42 pm

    Love rose x

  137. Angela Kelly 27th May 2017 / 10:50 am

    I like a sweet white wine, I don’t understand dry wine at all.

  138. Maria P 27th May 2017 / 8:57 am

    red one 🙂

  139. Hali Kinson 27th May 2017 / 7:47 am

    Rose

  140. Harline Parkin 27th May 2017 / 4:14 am

    Mines rose

  141. Tracy Nixon 27th May 2017 / 2:12 am

    I love rose!

  142. Gemma Cook 26th May 2017 / 11:13 pm

    Love White Wine

  143. Caroline Hunter 26th May 2017 / 8:00 pm

    White for me!

  144. Angela Treadway 26th May 2017 / 7:26 pm

    rose all the way x

  145. mick proctor 26th May 2017 / 6:46 pm

    Red always and often

  146. Alison Macdonald 26th May 2017 / 6:31 pm

    Love red wine but also partial to a glass of bubbles now and then 😉

  147. Joanne Beale 26th May 2017 / 6:29 pm

    Love white wine

  148. Sam R 25th May 2017 / 6:10 pm

    Rose! 🙂

  149. Ocean 22nd May 2017 / 9:17 pm

    What a fun concept. I wonder if this is international? We are in the US.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge